The following information is reproduced with the kind permission of the late Mr Austin F Holroyd, author of 'Woodsome - The Place and its People' - available for purchase from Woodsome Hall Golf Club.
In the early years of the 16th century Arthur Kay completed the new Yorkshire stone slate roof on his crook frame manor house.
By 1517, when he married Biatryx Wentworth, a large stone building (the beginnings of the hall) had replaced the manor house.
Prior to this the Kays (later Kayes) came to Woodsome in 1378 and remained there for 348 years. Only when they ‘ran out’ of sons in 1726 and eldest daughter, Elizabeth, married the heir to the Earl of Dartmouth , did the name change , and the association between Woodsome and the Dartmouth family began. Today, 281 years later, it still exists with the current Earl holding the office of Club President; a wonderful and valued piece of historical continuity.
The Hall was a thriving family home from the 14th century until the early years of the 20th century.
The house itself is a perfect example of its type, both inside and out. Simply a beautiful building with an original stone-floored main corridor and superbly proportioned rooms, The Dartmouth Lounge being a consummate illustration of this feature.
To eat, often by candlelight, in the atmospheric dining room complete with minstrels’ gallery, is an experience to be savoured. The huge open fireplace lends to the ambience, and over it, on an enormous beam, are carved the names of Arthur and Biatryx Kay.